David Lee the Founder of Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc. letting the truth flow.
Thank you David.
Special thanks to Reaching For The Tipping Point
 
source for post Narconon, Scientology and Intervention Services and Technologies
 
I believe it is necessary to help spread the articles by David Lee. He is the Founder of Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc. and has been writing on www.reaching4.info. His words are very enlightening and thought provoking. David’s words have already help many get out and speak out.
 
David, I would like to truly thank you from the bottom of my heart. Keep that river of truth flowing.
CH

David Lee of Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc.

My name is David Lee and I am the founder of Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc.  For many years I was directly and indirectly responsible for helping over one thousand families members get their loved ones to Narconons throughout North America, a program that I once believed in, advocated for, and endorsed.  A program that I no longer endorse in any way.

I must first state that I am not reacting to anything that Narconon, Scientology or anyone has “done” to me.  I am not an angry terminated staff member, or been disconnected (until now, probably), or had a major falling out because of anything personal.  I am simply here because of my own conscience, because of what I have seen and the damages that I believe Narconon has done by misleading addicts struggling to find recovery and the families that have often times invested everything they had on the hope that maybe it would work.   I would also like to thank Mary McConnell of this site, and also Lucas Catton, without whom I might have not had the courage to make this final step.

Around Christmas of 2001, my family found Narconon.  I had tried and failed at many traditional approaches.  My mother prayed for the right answer and thought it had come in the form of Narconon.  Here was something different for her son.  It says it has a 76% success rate.  For those odds, my mother would have sold her soul to save her son.  Instead, she took out a loan that she couldn’t afford.  If it had been a million dollars she would have found the way to pay it.  She just felt that I was dying, that she was losing her son.  She knew nothing and was told nothing about Scientology…and off I went.

I flew to Canada and found out right away that it had L. Ron Hubbard written all over it.  But, at the time, I wasn’t mad, I was fascinated.  The treatment center was a small and new Narconon that had just opened up in Canada.  Only six “students” at a time, but it had about 10 Scientologist staff members.  Not Narconon grads, but actual Scientologists.  I had never met a Scientologist before.  I liked them right away.  There the staff told me things that I never heard in an AA meeting.  That I didn’t have to be an addict forever, that I could be something more.  I heard about power, control, confronting my life.  I heard about responsibility, the evils of traditional programs and psychiatry, a duty to help others, and having an effect on the world.  I heard about changing the world.

AA was about humility.  This wasn’t about humility at all.  I never met anyone who encouraged the typical “grand” thinking that I had as an addict.  I loved it.

I was offered a job almost immediately.  Here was something amazing to me.  I went to sleep one night a patient.  I woke up a staff member.   Newly sober, emotionally immature, not stable at all.  But now in charge of helping others to find Narconon and, perhaps, Scientology.  In the Narconon world, your actual sobriety means very little, I have found.  What matters is what “ethics condition” you are in.  A strange but attractive philosophy.  You could have 2 weeks sober, but after a condition workup, be essentially in a higher level than someone who had abstained for many years.  In AA, you had to earn it over years and time.  Here, you could find admiration and respect in a few days.  We never spoke of “clean time”, sobriety dates, or anything like that.  It was about conditions, cause, effects, control.

After I left I began doing interventions for Narconons across the US.  Within 7 years, we kept expanding and were eventually the largest provider of interventions for Narconons that had ever been and perhaps, ever since.  Much of that time, I believed that I had a grand purpose.  I believed in Narconon, although I would continually relapse.  Be taken off lines, taken to a Narconon for a “retread” workup, put back on lines.  Throughout all this I still believed in Narconon, I just believed that I had missed something.  Sometimes I thought I needed a more thorough PTS handling (identify external factors that were causing you problems), other times it was TR’s (training routines) where I would sit in a chair motionless for 10 hours a day, weeks on end.  Maybe it was that I hadn’t written enough overts (harmful actions, secrets, etc), maybe a more thorough Sauna program.  Through it all, it was  usually suggested that unless I got on the bridge of Scientology and got into deeper auditing, I would probably never find true stability.  I could just never afford what they suggested.  “A mere $200k and you can have total freedom”  Ouch.

I eventually found that I was losing faith in the Narconon program.  Not so much because of my lack of stability (I still felt I was the failure), but because of what I saw on a more and more frequent basis amongst other Narconon grads, staff members, and Scientologists.  Here are the most major of the concerns that I began having:

   Narconon Reg’s (salespeople) seldom if ever were honest to families that Narconon was based upon L.Ron Hubbard and connected to Scientology.  At the time, I was proud of Narconon and couldn’t understand why someone who had that philosophy would be ashamed.  I’ve never met a Christian who lied about being a Christian, the bible or their faith.  If we suggested to Narconon that we would be transparent, we were usually told not to, that they would “handle that” after the client arrived.  Many families arrived without understanding it was connected to Scientology.  I would say that 90% of the time families were upset it was because of this issue.  It happened almost constantly.  Many said they wouldn’t have minded if Narconon told them up front, but since they didn’t…how can they be trusted now?
   Every time I did a retread or crossed paths with other Narconon staff members, I found frequent relapsers just like myself, it was just hidden.  I remember on occasion where new staff members would approach me in confidence and say that “no one who works here has stayed sober.  I’m worried.  You know other Narconons.  Is this normal, David?”.  I believe that I only know of less than 10 Narconon graduates who became staff members and stayed 100% sober without picking up a drink or a drug since graduating.  Less than 10 out of hundreds and hundreds that I have crossed paths with in the last 10 years.  Apparently they too felt that a “condition” state was more important than actual time sober.  A strange thing for an organization so adamant about stats.  I think that “time sober” should be the most important statistic in a rehab.  Perhaps I’m wrong.   Many families went to Narconon because they were told of a 76% success rate.  In my experience this is simply not true.  And when their loved one didn’t stay clean, they just assumed they were on the wrong side of the high success rate.
   Clients were being lied to about counseling at Narconon.  Prior to coming in, many families were being told that their loved one would have more “one on one counseling” than anywhere else.  In reality, I know and knew that Narconon has almost zero clinical counseling in the traditional sense.  The “one on one” aspect they refer to is one addict sitting across from another.  Which I guess would mean that the last time I was in Detox I had 20 counselors helping me…unfortunately, they were detoxing clients as well.

I was eventually thrown out of Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc due to frequent relapsing.  It was the best thing my brother could have done.  During my time away, I had much time to reflect upon the truth, the choices that I had made and the life that I lived.  I moved into a 12-step halfway house and remained there for 18 months.  I am coming up on 4 years clean and sober.  A true 4 years sober.  I don’t know what condition that I am in, but I am happy enough to have real sobriety.  I am a current member of traditional recovery.  This isn’t meant to be a “my recovery vs. Narconon recovery”.  But I do believe that with true recovery comes honesty, accountability, sobriety and purity.  These are things I was taught at Narconon, but didn’t actually see much of in my time with them.

I sincerely and truly regret that many families that we worked with were being misled.  I also regret that I did nothing to prevent it and was a party to getting their loved one’s to Narconon without them knowing all the facts.  It’s ironic that when I was in the Narconon Universe they always said that an “overt of omission” is a “failure to act that results in the harm of another”.  I could have drawn the line long ago, and regret that I stayed in that universe longer than my conscious gave me warning.  I had misgivings long before writing this.  I should have made a statement years ago.

In the last 3 years since my return at Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc. we have had to come to terms with many things.  For a time, we felt that if we promoted 12-step recovery after Narconon, or stopped referring clients there, or if we were transparent with family members about Narconon and its connections with Scientology that would be enough.  I, and we, no longer feel that way.  And although working with Narconon has all but fallen completely away, I feel that unless I make this statement the door is still open.

I and we here at Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc. will officially no longer work in any capacity with any treatment facility that endorses, promotes, or advocates Narconon or Scientology principles.

This includes any facility within the actual Narconon Network or anything affiliated with them or Scientology.  My suggestions to those there are, in my experience, that if you bring any form of Scientology or Narconon principles in your universe you very well may find a lack of recovery, honesty, sobriety, emotional stability, and instead have all the chaos that goes with it.  There comes a time in recovery when you must draw a line in the sand.  Sooner of later you have to make a choice.

I think it is important to understand that most of us who find our way into the Narconon or Scientology universe do so initially because our life had fallen apart.  Maybe we had tried other methods, and were desperate to find something different.  I, for one, was so grateful in the beginning when I got to Narconon.  I didn’t know there were other options until then.  I had almost given up.  In the end, I was so reluctant to let go of Narconon as a recovery path, because I felt it was the last house on the block, even if it wasn’t really working for me.  Letting go of your last hope isn’t always easy.

I would like to personally apologize to those here, the family members and addicts who we have worked with through Narconon.  If you didn’t find success there, I am deeply sorry.  I hope that you never give up searching for recovery.  And to my staff, many of whom aren’t Narconon people, I’d like to apologize for dragging you into a universe that you probably didn’t believe or even belong in.

It is safe to assume that those who are reading this are not all antagonistic towards Narconon or Scientology.  Perhaps you are a fellow ex-coworker at a Narconon, or a former friend.  Or perhaps you were sent this, even though you are probably told not to read Black PR sites as I was.  So I would like to speak directly to you, the current Narconon staff member.  The one who may be there…but is having doubts.

Many dozens of ex-Narconon employees have reached out to me over the last several years.  The story is always the same.  They didn’t like the dishonesty.  One day you will probably find yourself in the same position that I and many other people have over the years.  Should I do what’s right or should I do what’s easy?  Maybe you are passionate about helping others and Narconon gave you a chance to do it.  But when you eventually realize, as most of us have, that the relapsing amongst your coworkers is more common than you think, that lying for “the greatest good” is not ok, then you have a choice.  What if you find one day…that the success rate isn’t true?  You can either leave, or get honest about what you sell.  But will you be permitted to?  Ask and see.

And I speak from personal experience here.  You may eventually find yourself on a spiritual path of true recovery.  And one day you may wake up and you can no longer ignore the voices of the mothers, fathers, brothers and family members who reached out to you in desperation and found hope in Narconon…only to be replaced with major concerns about being misled.  Although there have been hundreds, perhaps thousands of family members I have spoken to, one in particular stands out.  I wish I remembered her name.  I was working at Narconon.  I spent an hour on the phone with her and in the end, she was sobbing for joy.  “Thank you David, I had given up hope and I now know that my prayers have been answered.  Narconon is going to save my son.  Thank you, thank you, thank you!”  And as I hung up the phone, I was aware of something new that I felt for maybe the first time, in my heart. That Narconon wasn’t going to work for her son.  She had sold everything that she had on a chance to save her son.  I don’t know why I think of her more than anyone else.  There were many.  But, I think, that it is because she probably sounded exactly like my mother when she reached out over 10 years ago and found Narconon.  And when my mother hung up the phone, she sold everything that she had for a chance that she believed would now save her poor and lost son.

Again, I am not angry at anything that Narconon or Scientology “did” to me.  In reality, they never did anything other than try and offer to help me.   The lack of honesty about Scientology, counseling and their often posted success rate is what I have the most issue with.  To be deceptive about one point opens a whole series of questions about the integrity of the other points.  And I don’t intend to single any one person or entity out.  Anything that I speak of can probably be found at most Narconons.  I am fully responsible for the choices and decisions that I have made in my life.  I know there are probably some that have found a great life after Narconon and I don’t want to take that away.  I know of others, who although still relapsing, have found post-Narconon life better than the alternative.   I was never a “great” example of a Narconon graduate, staff member or even of a Scientologist.  I doubt I would be considered, at any time, their “golden boy” and probably know less about Scientology than the people on these sites.  I just traveled in many, many Narconon circles.  And I can only speak of my experiences, thoughts and feelings, and how they have changed over the years.

I doubt Narconon will change.  I doubt they will tell everyone who calls that they are connected to Scientology.  I doubt they will really evaluate their posted success rates and how the program is “sold” over the phone.  But, I do know, that for as long as they don’t…there are others who will.

Sincerely,

David Lee
Founder
Intervention Services and Technologies, Inc.

If you feel moved by David’s words please leave a comment.

Comments
  1. minnuette payton says:

    David , no spunky talk intended , have you ever read what high doses of zink , @ 8 HRS. or so in a sauna can do to most human bodys ? Please look into it . Honestly I dont want to here of any more harm to another person . I am begging you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

